Author: Paul Quinn, CWTE Limited
Research current to 29 September 2026
Entities in scope: Manchester City Football Club Limited (00040946); Manchester City Limited (02989498); City Football Group Limited (08355862)
|
Summary
The Manchester City board is not a conventional club board with an owner’s representative on it. It is, in substance, a sub-committee of the Abu Dhabi executive apparatus. The chairman runs one of the emirate’s principal sovereign funds and chairs the government agency that advises the UAE President; two further directors are serving officials of that same agency; a fourth is the sovereign fund’s senior adviser and general counsel to the AI group chaired by the President’s brother. The ultimate owner chairs the sovereign fund of which the club chairman is chief executive.
|
|
Scope, sources and evidence grading
The review covers directors of the three UK companies through which Manchester City is owned and operated, together with the person with significant control (PSC). Former directors who left within the last five years are noted briefly. Executive management (CEO, CFO, General Counsel) is out of scope except where they hold a registered office.
| Grade | Source type | Examples used |
|---|---|---|
| A | Statutory / primary registers and filings | Companies House officer and PSC registers; financial statements; Mubadala, Aldar and Silver Lake official releases |
| B | Official self-disclosure by the individual or organisation | Mubadala, EAA, MGX and CFG biographies; mancity.com partner pages; Board of Peace member page; APL board page |
| C | Reputable press and legal commentary | Reuters, Bloomberg, WSJ (as reported), The National, The Athletic (as reported), Travers Smith commentary |
| D | Secondary aggregators | Wikipedia, MarketScreener, Equilar, used only to flag lines of enquiry and labelled as such |
Where a grade D source is the only support for a proposition, the text says so. UAE private companies and government agencies do not publish shareholder or officer registers equivalent to Companies House, so several ownership links rest on grade B or C evidence; these are recorded.
Ownership architecture
| Layer | Entity | Control / ownership | Evidence |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ultimate owner | HH Sheikh Mansour bin Zayed Al Nahyan | PSC of CFG: 75%+ shares and 75%+ voting rights, notified 6 April 2016. Correspondence address: Ministry of Presidential Affairs, PO Box 280, Abu Dhabi. | A |
| Holding vehicle | Newton Investment and Development LLC (Abu Dhabi) | CFG states it is fully owned by Sheikh Mansour and is CFG’s majority shareholder. Not named on the UK PSC register, which shows Sheikh Mansour personally; Abu Dhabi United Group (ADUG) ceased as PSC on 6 April 2016. | A / B |
| Minority investor | Silver Lake | Nearly 17% of CFG, built up progressively from a c.10% entry in 2019 at a US$4.8bn valuation. Mubadala holds a minority equity interest in Silver Lake itself (reported at c.5%) since September 2020. | B / C |
| Group parent | City Football Group Limited (08355862) | Seven directors (Section 4). Owns Manchester City and a multi-club network. | A |
| Club | Manchester City Football Club Limited (00040946) | Six directors; Company Secretary Simon Cliff (also CFG General Counsel). | A |
| Observation: register versus self-description
The CFG website describes ownership through Newton Investment and Development LLC; the UK register describes a direct individual PSC. The two are reconcilable (an individual can be PSC through a wholly owned intermediate), but the intermediate entity is not recorded as a relevant legal entity on the register. Any regulator applying an owners’ test should require the full chain to be evidenced. |
Board composition
| Director | Born / nationality / residence | MCFC Ltd | CFG Ltd | Other UK group boards | Current Abu Dhabi state role |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Khaldoon Khalifa Al Mubarak (Chairman) | Jan 1976 / Emirati / UAE | 23 Sep 2008 | 10 Jan 2013 | Manchester City Ltd; MC Investments; MC Women’s FC | Yes, EAA Chairman; Executive Council; Mubadala CEO |
| Simon Pearce | Mar 1971 / British / Australia | 23 Sep 2008 | 10 Jan 2013 | Manchester City Ltd; MC Investments; MC Women’s FC; Brookshaw Developments | Yes, Special Adviser to EAA Chairman |
| Abdulla Al Khouri | Apr 1974 / Emirati / UAE | 8 Jul 2018 | 8 Jul 2018 | — | Yes, EAA Executive Director, Government Affairs |
|
Martin Lee Edelman |
Jun 1941 / American / USA | 23 Sep 2008 | 10 Jan 2013 | Manchester City Ltd | Yes (adviser), Mubadala senior adviser; MGX director; G42 GC |
| Alberto Galassi | Dec 1964 / Italian / Italy | 22 Jun 2012 | 10 Jan 2013 | Manchester City Ltd; MC Investments; Brookshaw Developments | No current role; former CEO/chair of Mubadala-controlled Piaggio Aero |
| John Theodore MacBeath | Aug 1956 / British / UK | 30 Jan 2010 | 10 Jan 2013 | Manchester City Ltd; MC Investments; MC Women’s FC; CFG (Midco); Brookshaw Developments | None identified |
| Egon Pierre Durban | Aug 1973 / American / USA | — | 6 Dec 2019 | — | No; Silver Lake Co-CEO (Mubadala holds equity in Silver Lake) |
Source: Companies House officer registers (grade A), accessed 29 September 2026. Brookshaw Developments Limited (07118805) is a group property company.
| Register event worth noting
On 19 September 2025 Messrs Al Mubarak, Pearce, MacBeath, Edelman and Galassi resigned together from the boards of City Football Marketing Ltd, City Football Services Ltd and/or City Football Treasury Management Ltd. The timing coincides with the 8 September 2025 settlement of the APT dispute. No causal link is asserted; the reason should be established before any conclusion is drawn. |
Individual relationship profiles
HH Sheikh Mansour bin Zayed Al Nahyan, owner and PSC (not a director)
Included because every relationship below ultimately runs back to him.
| Dimension | Documented position | Grade |
|---|---|---|
| Federal political office | Vice President of the UAE (since 29 March 2023); Deputy Prime Minister (since 2009); Chairman of the Presidential Court | B / C |
| Sovereign funds | Chairman of Mubadala Investment Company; Chairman of the Emirates Investment Authority (EIA, the federal sovereign fund) since 2007 | B |
| Monetary authority | Chairman of the Board of the Central Bank of the UAE (chaired board meetings in March and April 2026) | B |
| Sponsor | e& is 60% owned by the EIA, which he chairs; the EIA also holds a special share with veto rights over key corporate decisions. Aldar’s largest shareholder is Mubadala, which he chairs. | A / B |
| Family | Brother of the UAE President (Sheikh Mohamed bin Zayed) and of Sheikh Tahnoun bin Zayed, who chairs ADQ (owner of Etihad), First Abu Dhabi Bank, G42, MGX and ADIA | C |
Khaldoon Khalifa Al Mubarak, Chairman, MCFC and CFG
| Dimension | Documented position | Grade |
|---|---|---|
| Government and political | Chairman of the Executive Affairs Authority, the agency providing strategic policy advice to the UAE President; member of the Abu Dhabi Executive Council (since 2004 per Mubadala; 2006 per other sources); member of the Supreme Council for Financial and Economic Affairs; Presidential Special Envoy to China; Secretary General of the Artificial Intelligence and Advanced Technology Council (Jan 2024); Vice Chair, Mohammed bin Zayed Water Initiative; member, Advanced Technology Research Council | B |
| Sovereign funds | Managing Director and Group CEO, Mubadala (US$330bn per Mubadala; led since 2002); Chairman, Mubadala Capital; chairman of the Abu Dhabi Investment Council (a Mubadala subsidiary) per secondary sources | B / D |
| State-owned enterprises | Chairman, Abu Dhabi Commercial Bank; board, ADNOC; board, L’IMAD Holding; Vice Chairman, MGX (chaired by Sheikh Tahnoun); board, G42 (chaired by Sheikh Tahnoun) | B |
| Academic / other | Chair, Board of Trustees, Mohamed bin Zayed University of AI (Feb 2025); NYU Board of Trustees; Tsinghua SEM Advisory Board; WEF International Business Council chair; JP Morgan International Council | B |
| Sponsor | Aldar (Mubadala largest shareholder, 28.03%); First Abu Dhabi Bank (blocked 2023 deal; c.33% held by the Mubadala subsidiary ADIC per secondary sources); Silver Lake/Qualtrics (Mubadala holds equity in Silver Lake; he signed the 2020 partnership) | A / B / D |
| Assessment: State alignment: VERY HIGH
Mr Al Mubarak is simultaneously the club’s chairman, the chief executive of the owner’s sovereign fund, the chair of the President’s policy agency and a member of the emirate’s cabinet-equivalent. There is no meaningful separation between his club role and his state roles. The CFG website biography still lists him as chair of Emirates Global Aluminium and ENEC, which his current Mubadala and EAA biographies no longer state, an inconsistency the club should correct. |
Simon Pearce, Director, MCFC and CFG; Vice Chairman, Melbourne City
| Dimension | Documented position | Grade |
|---|---|---|
| Government | Joined the Executive Affairs Authority in 2006; currently Special Adviser to the EAA Chairman (i.e. to Mr Al Mubarak) | B |
| State-linked companies | Board member, Ethara (merger of Flash Entertainment and Abu Dhabi Motorsports Management, operator of Yas Marina Circuit, Etihad Arena and Etihad Park) | B |
| Manchester / ADUG | Board member, Manchester Life Development Company (the ADUG–Manchester City Council housing joint venture in east Manchester) | B |
| Football | Founding board member, Australian Professional Leagues (club representative since December 2020); Vice Chairman, Melbourne City FC | B |
| Sponsor | Ethara operates venues carrying Etihad naming rights; no direct sponsor board seat identified | B |
| Assessment, State alignment: HIGH
Mr Pearce is a direct subordinate of the club chairman in the Abu Dhabi government. His club directorship cannot be treated as independent oversight of the chairman. |
Abdulla Al Khouri, Director, MCFC and CFG
| Dimension | Documented position | Grade |
|---|---|---|
| Government | Executive Director of Government Affairs, Executive Affairs Authority since 2008; Companies House records his occupation as government employee | A / B |
| State-linked companies | Chairman of Ethara (Abu Dhabi Grand Prix promoter; named F1 Promoter of the Year 2025, marked by a presidential reception in September 2026) | B / C |
| Other directorships (reported) | Director, Emirates Palace Co.; director, Media Zone Authority; former director twofour54 and National Central Cooling; formerly Head of Communications and Administration at Mamoura Diversified Global Holding (a Mubadala entity) | D |
| Sponsor | Emirates Palace (club partner; owned by the Government of Abu Dhabi), reported directorship of the owning company, requiring verification. Ethara’s Etihad-branded venues. | D |
| Assessment, State alignment: HIGH
A serving EAA official, reporting within the chairman’s agency. If the Emirates Palace directorship is current, he sits on both sides of a club sponsorship that the APT tribunal noted had been subject to delay. |
Martin Lee Edelman, Director, MCFC and CFG; Vice Chairman, NYCFC
| Dimension | Documented position | Grade |
|---|---|---|
| Abu Dhabi sovereign / state | Senior adviser to Mubadala; director of MGX (Abu Dhabi AI investment company chaired by Sheikh Tahnoun, with Mr Al Mubarak as Vice Chairman); General Counsel of G42 (chaired by Sheikh Tahnoun); reported adviser to Royal Group | B / D |
| Sponsor | Director of Aldar (club’s Official Real Estate Partner since January 2022; Mubadala holds 28.03%) | B |
| Manchester / ADUG | Chairman / Executive Chairman, Manchester Life Development Company | B |
| US political exposure | Named to the executive board of the Gaza “Board of Peace”. Reported (WSJ, Feb 2026) as one of two G42 executives placed on the board of World Liberty Financial, the Trump family crypto venture, after an entity backed by Sheikh Tahnoun agreed to buy 49% for US$500m in January 2025. World Liberty and the White House deny wrongdoing. | B / C |
| Other | Of Counsel, Paul Hastings LLP; director, Equity Commonwealth; adviser to RedBird IMI and Fortune; historic board seats at AMD and GlobalFoundries (both Mubadala-linked) | B / D |
| Assessment, State alignment: HIGH; political exposure: HIGH
Mr Edelman is the board’s principal bridge between the Mansour-chaired and Tahnoun-chaired centres of Abu Dhabi capital. He is the only director with a confirmed seat on a current sponsor’s board (Aldar). His reported WLF role imports US emoluments and foreign-influence controversy into the club boardroom. At 85 and 18 years in post, he is also the board’s longest-standing non-Emirati appointee alongside Mr Pearce. |
Egon Durban, Director, CFG only (Silver Lake nominee)
| Dimension | Documented position | Grade |
|---|---|---|
| Principal role | Founding principal and Co-CEO, Silver Lake; appointed to CFG on 6 December 2019 as Silver Lake’s representative | A / B |
| Abu Dhabi linkage | Mubadala acquired a minority equity interest in Silver Lake in September 2020 (reported at c.5%, bought from Dyal) and committed US$2bn to a 25-year Silver Lake strategy. Mubadala and Silver Lake have co-invested in Endeavor, Waymo and Jio Platforms. | A / C |
| Sponsor | Qualtrics, Official Experience Management Software Partner since October 2021, renewed September 2026, was taken private by Silver Lake and CPP Investments in June 2023 (US$12.5bn). The CFG biography lists Mr Durban as a Qualtrics director. | A / B |
| Other boards (per CFG bio) | Endeavor (chair), TKO, Dell Technologies, Motorola Solutions, Learfield, Unity, Verily, Waymo; the CFG list also names Twitter and VMware, which no longer exist as listed standalone companies | B |
| Assessment, State alignment: MODERATE
Silver Lake is presented as an independent, arm’s-length minority investor. It is not: the owner’s sovereign fund is an equity holder in the general partner and a US$2bn capital provider to it. Silver Lake’s stake in CFG is therefore not a fully independent counterweight to Abu Dhabi control. |
Alberto Galassi, Director, MCFC and CFG
| Dimension | Documented position | Grade |
|---|---|---|
| Historic Abu Dhabi linkage | CEO of Piaggio Aero Industries from 2009 (some sources: 2008) and Chairman 2014–15. Mubadala was a shareholder from 2006, held 41% after a 2013 rights issue and 98.05% from 2014. He joined the MCFC board in June 2012 while running a Mubadala portfolio company. | C |
| Current private interests | CEO of Ferretti Group until 14–15 May 2026, when Weichai’s board slate won the AGM (c.52% of votes) over a KKCG-backed slate that had proposed to retain him | C |
| Sponsor | None identified | — |
| Assessment, State alignment: LOW (current); historic Mubadala dependency
No current Abu Dhabi role identified. His appointment originated during a period of direct commercial dependency on Mubadala. Both the MCFC and CFG websites still describe him as Ferretti CEO more than four months after his departure. |
John Theodore MacBeath, Director, MCFC and CFG; Chairman, ESTAC
| Dimension | Documented position | Grade |
|---|---|---|
| Profile | Chartered accountant; oil and gas and aerospace background; interim MCFC CEO September 2011 to September 2012; Chairman of ESTAC (Troyes) | A / B |
| Abu Dhabi linkage | None identified in this review. His personal company, John MacBeath & Company Limited, is dissolved. | A |
| Sponsor | None identified | — |
| Assessment, State alignment: NONE IDENTIFIED
The closest the board has to an independent non-executive, although 16 years’ service and executive history at the club weigh against independence under Code criteria. |
Recent departures
| Director | Left | Relevance |
|---|---|---|
| Mohamed Mubarak Al Mazrouei (Emirati) | 1 Jan 2022 (MCFC and CFG) | Director since 2010 (MCFC) and 2013 (CFG); the fourth Emirati appointee during the charge period. Government roles not re-verified in this review. |
| Li Ruigang (Chinese) | 21 Nov 2022 (CFG) | China Media Capital nominee following its 2015 investment in CFG. |
Sponsor mapping
The club lists 34 global partners and 7 regional partners (mancity.com, accessed 29 September 2026). Six global partners are headquartered in Abu Dhabi; five of them are owned or controlled by the state. The table below also covers Qualtrics (Silver Lake nexus) and the blocked First Abu Dhabi Bank transaction.
| Partner | Category / since | Ultimate ownership or control | Board / owner nexus | Rating |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Etihad Airways | Shirt and stadium/campus naming; since 2009 (10-year, c.£400m deal from 2011) | Full ownership transferred to ADQ in February 2024 by the Supreme Council for Financial and Economic Affairs (of which Mr Al Mubarak is a member). ADQ is chaired by Sheikh Tahnoun. | Owner’s brother chairs the parent; chairman sits on the transferring council; EAA directors govern Ethara, which operates Etihad-named venues | Very High |
| e& | Global partner | 60% held by the Emirates Investment Authority, plus a special share with veto rights | EIA chaired by Sheikh Mansour owner-controlled sponsor | Very High |
| Experience Abu Dhabi | Global partner; presenting partner of pre-season tours; relationship dates to ADTA in 2009 | DCT Abu Dhabi, a department of the Abu Dhabi government | The state as sponsor | Very High |
| Emirates Palace Mandarin Oriental | Official Luxury Hotel Partner | Government of Abu Dhabi (owner); Mandarin Oriental operates | Mr Al Khouri reported as director of Emirates Palace Co. (grade D). APT tribunal noted delay on an Emirates Palace transaction. | Very High |
| Aldar | Official Real Estate Partner since 26 Jan 2022; uses club IP to market residential projects | Listed; Mubadala largest shareholder (28.03%, August 2026); Alpha Dhabi (IHC group) also a major holder | Mr Edelman is an Aldar director; Mubadala chaired by Sheikh Mansour and run by Mr Al Mubarak | Very High |
| Qualtrics | Official Experience Management Software Partner since Oct 2021; renewed Sept 2026 | Silver Lake and CPP Investments (take-private completed June 2023) | Silver Lake holds c.17% of CFG; Mr Durban is CFG director and (per CFG) a Qualtrics director; Mubadala holds equity in Silver Lake | High |
| Ohana Development | Global partner; “Manchester City Yas Residences by Ohana”, launched Jan 2026; AED 6bn sold in 72 hours | Private UAE developer; ultimate owner not publicly disclosed | None identified. Land tenure and master-developer arrangements on Yas Canal not established. | Moderate |
| First Abu Dhabi Bank | Proposed 2023 deal blocked by the Premier League; decision set aside by the APT tribunal (Oct 2024) | Listed; c.33% held by ADIC (Mubadala subsidiary) per secondary sources; chaired by Sheikh Tahnoun | Mubadala group shareholding; owner’s brother chairs | Very High |
Other global partners (including PUMA, OKX, Asahi, Revolut, BYD, Betway, EA Sports FC, Publicis Sapient, Wix, Trendyol, Xylem, Unilever, JinkoSolar, QNET, Socios, JNC, Joie, Veritran, CP Company, AUX, N-Able, Axi, Topps, Unilumin, VTEX, Hytro, Evelyn Partners): no Abu Dhabi state ownership identified in this review. This negative finding is not the result of exhaustive testing.
| The Etihad renewal
The Premier League blocked a proposed Etihad renewal in 2023 on fair market value grounds. An arbitral tribunal set that decision aside as procedurally unfair in October 2024. On 8 September 2025 City and the League settled City’s challenge to the amended APT rules, with City accepting the current rules as valid and binding; press reports then indicated the renewal could proceed, with values of up to £1bn speculated. This review located no public confirmation of the terms or completion of a new Etihad agreement. Its value relative to independent benchmarks (The Sponsor put City’s front-of-shirt fair value at £72.8m in 2023) will be the single most important APT test for the club. |
Institutional network
The matrix shows which directors connect to which Abu Dhabi institutions. The concentration on three nodes, the EAA, the Mubadala group and the Tahnoun-chaired AI complex (MGX and G42), is the central structural finding.
| Director | EAA | Mubadala group | MGX / G42 | Ethara | Sponsor boards | ADUG vehicles |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Al Mubarak | Chairman | MD & Group CEO; Chair, Mubadala Capital | MGX Vice Chair; G42 board | — | Via Mubadala (Aldar, FAB) | Club and CFG chair |
| Pearce | Special Adviser | — | — | Board | — | Manchester Life board |
| Al Khouri | Exec. Director | Formerly Mamoura (D) | — | Chairman | Emirates Palace Co. (D) | — |
| Edelman | — | Senior adviser | MGX director; G42 GC | — | Aldar director | Manchester Life chair |
| Durban | — | Mubadala holds equity in his firm | — | — | Qualtrics (per CFG) | — |
| Galassi | — | Former CEO/Chair of Mubadala-controlled Piaggio Aero | — | — | — | — |
| MacBeath | — | — | — | — | — | — |
| The two-brothers architecture
Club-side capital runs through bodies chaired by Sheikh Mansour (Mubadala, EIA, Central Bank). Sponsor-side and AI-side capital increasingly runs through bodies chaired by Sheikh Tahnoun (ADQ/Etihad, FAB, MGX, G42, ADIA). Mr Al Mubarak (MGX Vice Chair, G42 board) and Mr Edelman (MGX director, G42 GC) sit inside both. The club board is therefore embedded in the two principal centres of Abu Dhabi state capital, not merely in the owner’s personal holdings. |
Regulatory and governance implications
Associated Party Transactions
The APT regime exists to test whether commercial income from parties connected to a club’s owner reflects fair market value. City’s October 2024 arbitral win found parts of the original rules unlawful, including the exclusion of shareholder loans, while upholding the regime’s purpose; City has since accepted the amended rules as valid and binding. The practical consequence is that every sponsor in Section 6 rated Very High falls to be assessed against independent benchmarks. The Aldar relationship deserves particular scrutiny because the connection is two-sided: common control at shareholder level (Mubadala) and a shared director (Edelman).
Related-party disclosure in the accounts
Both IFRS (IAS 24) and UK GAAP contain reduced-disclosure provisions for transactions between entities under common government control. The board should be able to show how each state-linked partner is treated in the club’s related-party note and whether any reduced-disclosure exemption is relied on. That analysis was outside the scope of this review.
The 115 charges, board continuity
On 25 September 2026 The Athletic, followed by Reuters, reported that the independent commission had found City in breach on 114 of 115 charges. Neither the League nor the club has published the decision; sanctions are to be determined separately and City is expected to appeal. On 26 September the chairman wrote to supporters that the process has a long way to run and that the club remains intent on proving its innocence.
The governance point is continuity, not culpability. Messrs Al Mubarak, Pearce and Edelman have served since September 2008, Mr MacBeath since January 2010 and Mr Galassi since June 2012, all spanning the 2009/10 to 2017/18 period to which the substantive charges relate. Mr Al Khouri joined in July 2018, before the December 2018 start of the alleged non-cooperation period. The board that is expected to lead the appeal and any remediation is, in composition, the board that was in office throughout. The UEFA-era allegations resolved at CAS in 2020 also concerned the source of funding behind Abu Dhabi sponsorship income.
Independent Football Regulator
The Football Governance Act 2025 gives the IFR an owners and officers test and powers over club governance. A board on which four of six directors hold current posts in a foreign state or its sovereign vehicles raises questions that a conventional fit-and-proper test does not answer: the capacity of directors to exercise independent judgement where the state’s interests and the club’s diverge, and the handling of conflicts where the same individuals sit on both sides of sponsorship and financing arrangements.
Foreign political exposure
- US: Mr Edelman’s reported World Liberty Financial board seat and Board of Peace role link the club board to live US congressional and ethics scrutiny of Abu Dhabi–Trump family dealings.
- China: Mr Al Mubarak is the UAE’s Presidential Special Envoy to China; CFG had a Chinese state-linked minority investor (China Media Capital/CITIC) and operates Shenzhen Peng City.
- UK: Mubadala was reported in 2021 to have agreed a UK–UAE Sovereign Investment Partnership with the UK government covering c.£10bn of investment (grade D); the club chairman leads that fund.
Disclosure hygiene
| Published statement | Position at 29 September 2026 |
|---|---|
| CFG and MCFC: Galassi is “CEO of Ferretti Group” | Left Ferretti on 14–15 May 2026 |
| CFG: Durban sits on the boards of Twitter, VMware and Qualtrics | Twitter and VMware no longer exist as listed standalone companies; Qualtrics status unverified |
| CFG: Al Mubarak chairs Emirates Global Aluminium and ENEC | Not stated in his current Mubadala or EAA biographies |
| CFG: Girona placed in blind trust for 1 July 2024 – 30 June 2025 | Current status not updated on the page |
| CFG: majority owner is Newton Investment and Development LLC | UK PSC register shows Sheikh Mansour personally; Newton not recorded |
Conclusions and recommended actions
The evidence supports three firm conclusions.
- The Manchester City board is an extension of the Abu Dhabi state, not an independent governing body. Half of the club board are serving officials of a single government agency, led by the club chairman.
- The club’s most valuable commercial relationships are with entities controlled by the owner, the owner’s sovereign fund, or the owner’s brother. Any claim that these are arm’s-length rests entirely on the fair market value process, not on independence of the counterparties.
- The apparent independent investor is financially connected to the owner’s fund. Silver Lake’s c.17% stake does not dilute Abu Dhabi’s influence to the extent the headline shareholding suggests.
For regulators and the Premier League
- Require a full conflicts register for each director, covering state appointments, sovereign-fund roles and sponsor board seats, refreshed annually and on change.
- Treat Aldar, e&, Etihad, Experience Abu Dhabi, Emirates Palace and any renewed FAB deal as associated parties; seek the club’s analysis on Qualtrics.
- Require the full ownership chain, including Newton Investment and Development LLC, to be evidenced on the register.
For the club board
- Appoint at least two directors with no current or past relationship to the Abu Dhabi state, Mubadala, Silver Lake or any sponsor.
- Adopt recusal from sponsor approvals for any director connected to the counterparty (Edelman on Aldar; Durban on Qualtrics; EAA officials on state-owned partners).
- Correct published biographies and publish the conflicts register.
Caveats and data limitations
| Limitations
UAE opacity: UAE government agencies and private companies (including Newton Investment and Development LLC, Ethara, Ohana and Emirates Palace Co.) do not publish registers comparable to Companies House. Ownership of Ethara has not been established. Secondary-source dependence: ADIC’s c.33% holding in FAB, Mr Al Mubarak’s chairmanship of ADIC, Mr Al Khouri’s Emirates Palace and Media Zone directorships, and Mr Edelman’s Royal Group advisory role rest on grade D sources and require verification. Reported, not published: The 114-of-115 finding is based on press reports of an unpublished decision. The WLF board seat is based on reporting of the Wall Street Journal investigation, which the parties dispute in its implications. Sponsorship values: Contract values for state-linked partners are not disclosed; no fair-value opinion is offered on any individual agreement. Point in time: Positions are as at 29 September 2026. Biographies of several directors are demonstrably stale, so self-disclosed roles may also be out of date in either direction. No allegation: Holding multiple roles is a structural conflict, not evidence of misconduct. Nothing in this report asserts that any individual has acted improperly. |
Principal sources, available on request
Categories: The Analysis Series